Steps to Take After Being Injured in A Hit and Run
Approximately 680,000 hit and run car accidents occur in the United States each year. Hit and runs occur when one person flees the scene of the accident before offering sufficient information to or aiding the other person(s) involved in the crash. Hit and runs not only worsen victim’s injuries by delaying medical treatment, but they are also criminal offenses. These offenses may result in substantial physical injuries, medical bills, and lost income. The experienced attorneys at Slatter Law Firm will aggressively fight to recover the maximum compensation for your injuries.
California law requires drivers to remain at the scene of the accident, provide their contact and insurance information to the other driver, and wait for the police to arrive. If a driver fails to do any of these actions, he or she has committed a hit and run. However, if drivers require emergency medical treatment, they may leave the scene of the accident before performing these actions.
Hit and runs are criminal offenses. The penalties for this crime depend on the severity of the accident. Minor accidents with vehicle damage and no physical injuries may result in a misdemeanor. This misdemeanor can carry fines up to $1,000 and result in 6 months in jail. If the accident resulted in physical injury, the hit and run driver may be punished with fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 and a jail sentence of up to four (4) years.
Below are crucial steps to take if you or a loved one were injured in a hit and run.1. Call 911
If safe to do so, you should call 911 immediately after your accident. You should provide the police with every detail you can recall regarding the accident. Important information for identifying the hit and run driver include the make and model of the other car; the color of the car; the car’s license plate number; any unique details regarding the car, such as bumper stickers; and the driver’s appearance.2. Preserve Evidence
It is very important that you save all relevant evidence. As such, you should take many photographs of the scene of the accident. If you’re unsure whether a particular piece of evidence would be valuable, please save it. When proving the other driver was at-fault, it is better to have more evidence than less.3. File an Insurance Claim and Retain an Attorney
After the accident, you should immediately file a claim with your insurance company. Additionally, you should track your damages relating to the accident. Victims of hit and run accidents are entitled to recover compensation for the following:
- Property damage and car repair expenses;
- Medical bills;
- Future medical treatment;
- Loss of income;
- Loss of earning potential;
- Scars or disfigurement; and
- Pain and suffering.
In order to recover compensation for these items, you must save all relevant evidence, including receipts, invoices, bills, and records. Additionally, you should immediately contact an experienced personal injury attorney, who will conduct a thorough investigation to identify the hit and run driver and maximize your compensation for your injuries.Contact Us Today
Contact a Los Angeles personal injury attorney today if you or a loved one were injured in a hit and run. Slatter Law Firm has been helping individuals injured due to hit and run accidents throughout Los Angeles and Southern California for over four decades. To schedule a free consultation, call our office at (310) 444-3010 or contact us online.